BE QUIET! An Exclusive Look at Ryan Higgins’ Spring 2017 Book

All Rupert the mouse wants is to star in a beautiful, wordless picturebook. One that’s visually stimulating! With scenic pictures! And style! He has plenty of ideas about what makes a great book, but his friends just WON’T. STOP. TALKING.
 
Children and adults alike will chuckle at this comedic take on bookmaking from acclaimed author-illustrator Ryan T. Higgins.
Ryan stopped by to answer a few questions about his Spring 2017 book, which is set to release April 4, 2017 from Disney-Hyperion.

Haven’t I seen these mice somewhere before?

Yes. They take over Bruce’s house in the next Bruce book, Hotel Bruce. Also, Dylan, you’re one of the few people to see my older work (from before I was published). I’ve been working with these mice, in some form or other, since I was a kid.

Where did you get the idea for this book?

I sketched up the first draft of this four years ago. I sat down to make a picture book without words and the characters had other ideas.

What makes this book unique?

I’m terrible at talking up my books… I suppose this book is different than most in that the characters take over. Approaching the 4th wall is not a new concept, but I don’t think anyone has done it before with a mouse wearing glasses and a mustache. I could be wrong, though. I’ll Google it later.

What are you working on now (besides your cool writing shed?) ?

Right. I’m personally building a studio in my backyard. I hope to be making books in it by this winter, but building buildings takes a long time. I still can’t think of the perfect name for the place…

Besides the carpentry work, I’m working on Bruce’s next adventure, but it’s top secret. I can’t talk about it — except to say it has a scene with a motorbike!

Anything else you’d like to share?
Nah. I’m pretty boring.
And now, here’s the cover…..!

A1-scR2LDEL

Leave a Reply

