Worth Something Someday: A Review of Beatrix Potter and the Unfortunate Tale of a Borrowed Guinea Pig

When I was working with young children, and they’d give me a piece of artwork, I’d always ask them to sign it for me. I said “I’ll keep it because someday you’ll be famous!”

I wasn’t saying it sarcastically; I was saying it because I believed in each and every one of them.

Other people say things like, “Can I take your picture so I can say I knew you back before you were famous?”

You never know the path a person’s life will take. Some have great, grand adventures in front of them that they never dreamed of. But it happens.

In Beatrix Potter & The Unforgettable Tale of a Borrowed Guinea Pig, we hear a true tale of Beatrice’s childhood… before she was famous. This memoir, written by Deborah Hopkinson and illustrated by Charlotte Voake, takes us way back in time to Beatrix’s younger days. The days where she was known for her bad luck with animals.

It wasn’t intentional; for instance, one time her snails were sleeping and she just found it would be so cruel to water them at that time.

I don’t have to tell you how they ended up.

When Beatrice isn’t loving animals, she is off drawing and painting in watercolors. (I loved that this book was done in ink and watercolor). She wants to paint a special guinea pig, so she borrows a very distinguished one from her neighbor Miss Nina Paget.

I won’t spoil the story, but the poor guinea pig wound up with the same fate as the snails.

Beatrice realizes she must apologize. So she brings Miss Paget the guinea pig, accompanied by an original watercolor illustration of the guinea pig.

Years later, a painting Beatrix did of a guinea pig sold for thousands of pounds.

We’re left to draw our own conclusions, but author Deborah Hopkinson warns us to hang on to those pieces of art. You never know when someone might be famous.

This story is perfect for fans of Beatrix Potter and will be a gem you want to add to your collection. Coming this spring from Random House.

51lcCSEq4aL

Leave a Reply

