“Don’t Take That Away!” Best of 2014

Last year, I shared what my students thought were the best books of the year. I always pass our read aloud titles on to the students when we are done sharing them in my class. Before I begin, I want to say that although I bought many, many new releases from 2014, I have not yet read them all to my students.

I set a special spot aside in my room-  a shelf where I put books we’ve shared together (ones that I’ve read aloud). It gets pretty full pretty quick, so I have to comb through it occasionally and take books away. I usually do it while students are there, and these are some of the books that got the biggest response of “NO! Don’t take that one away!” this year.

Here were some of their favorites from 2014….(and they just might be some of my favorites, too!)

Henny

by Elizabeth Rose Stanton

Buddy and the Bunnies in: Don’t Play With Your Food!

by Bob Shea

Here Comes the Easter Cat

by Deborah Underood
Illustrated by Claudia Rueda

The End

by Jim Benton

Some Bugs

by Angela DiTerlizzi
Illustrated by Brendan Wenzel

Found

by Salina Yoon

The Pigeon Needs a Bath!

By Mo Willems

 

The Adventures of Beekle

by Dan Santat

Peanut Butter and Jellyfish

by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Naked!

by Ian Michael Black

Illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Hooray for Hat!

by Brian Won

Ninja

By Arree Chung

The Troublemaker

by Lauren Castillo

Early Bird

by Toni Yuly

Dinosaur vs. School

by Bob Shea

Dog Days of School

by Kelly DiPucchio
Illustrated by Brian Biggs

The Farmer and the Clown

by Marla Frazee

Nana in the City

by Lauren Castillo

Max and Ruby at the Warthogs’ Wedding

by Rosemary Wells

Skippyjon Jones: Snow What

by Judy Schachner

Breaking News: Bear Alert

by David Biedrzycki

Shh! We Have a Plan

by Chris Haughton

One Big Pair of Underwear

by Laura Gehl
Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld

Creature Features

by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page

Go, Shapes, Go!

by Denise Fleming

The Secret Life of Squirrels

by Nancy Rose

One thought on ““Don’t Take That Away!” Best of 2014

Leave a Reply

