Celebration of Six

I’ve felt kind of down in a slum lately, but today as the sun appeared and the temperatures began to rise, I realized there’s a lot to celebrate today.

Image

1. I think we are seeing a peek of spring… and that means more sunshine, warmer temperatures, and chances for me to exercise outside and get in good shape. It is on walks that I clear my head, do my thinking, get new ideas, and pray. I can’t wait until all of the slush is cleared and dried up.

Image

2. I am almost done with a manuscript for a children’s picture book I have been writing. And… I have a friend who is going to illustrate it! Who knows where this will go….. nowhere… or somewhere… Either way, it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, and even if it is just published independently, it will be a dream come true.

ImageImage

3. Special Guests. This Friday, I am receiving the 2014 State of Illinois Outstanding Reading Teacher of the Year K-5 award. My special guests in lieu of my family will be two of my outstanding author/illustrator friends, Candy Fleming and Eric Rohmann, and also one of my reading mentors, Dr. Maria Walther. I am so honored that they are joining me for the special event, as I am so far away from my family.

Image4. Planning is underway for the 2014 Children’s Literacy Festival I direct at our school, which began last year. I hope to be able to reveal all of the authors/illustrators planning to come SOON, but for now, I am happy….no, thrilled, that Peter Brown is going to join us. Peter’s books are outstanding and I know the children who attend are going to be inspired by his presentations. We are looking at November 6, 2014!

Image

 

5. Report Cards…. are done! Friday marked the end of our third quarter, which means we have entered the final quarter for the year. Can it be? Already? I feel like I am just getting started with all of the wonderful students in first grade this year. It has been fun and enjoyable to see them grow and develop in the past months I’ve been fortunate enough to spend with them. Here’s to a great last 8 weeks jam-packed with reading and learning.

Image6. Spring break is two weeks away. I am looking forward to being with my family in Iowa, and friends in Nebraska, whom I’ll split my time between. I don’t get to see either of them often enough, so it will be a week of relaxing, visiting, and of course, reading.

It’s easy to get out of a slum when you look at what you can celebrate! What are you celebrating?

 

 

 

One thought on “Celebration of Six

  1. Thanks for sharing those positive thoughts. I feel better already! Are you getting out of a slum or a slump? Either way, it’s great news!

Leave a Reply

